top of page

BACK INTO BOOKS

From when I was very little, I had always enjoyed reading but during 2015 I has so much to do that I always found excuses not to read. But last summer, I read some really good books that made me get into reading again until this day. I know read for 10-30 minutes before going to sleep and I love it!

Desde muy pequeña siempre había disfrutado leyendo, pero desde hace dos años siempre encontraba excusas para no leer. Este último verano leí unos cuantos libros que me encantaron y han hecho que le vuelva a coger el gusto, ¡aquí tenéis mis favoritos!

1.- La Sonrisa Etrusca - José Luis Sampedro (1985)

This was the first book I read after a long (veeeery long) time without having a book in my hands. It is a beautiful narrative that made me feel fond of the characters, because you get to know them more and more through the story. This book kind of defined the style of book I always reach for now: a realistic narration about people, feelings and life. It is also a perfect description of the relationship between new and old generations that plays an important role in the story.


Este fue el primer libro que leí después de mucho tiempo sin un libro entre mis manos. Es una historia preciosa que me hizo encariñarme con los personajes, a los que vas conociendo más y más a lo largo de la novela. Disfruté tanto de la historia que definió el tipo de libro que he buscado desde entonces: una narración sobre personas, sentimientos y la vida en general. También en la historia se refleja de forma muy bonita la relación entre las generaciones hoy en día.



2.- Brooklyn Follies - Paul Auster (2005)

This was a book like no other I had read before. It can't be more realistic telling the life of Nathan Glass from when he is 60 on. It is a narrative yet it stops to reflect on deep life matters. It is a both fun and serious read, I really enjoyed it!


Este fue un libro como ninguno otro que había leído. Es realista a más no poder, y cuenta la vida de Nathan Glass a partir de sus 60 años. Es una novela, una historia, pero para a reflexionar de vez en cuando. Es divertida a la vez que seria y profunda, ¡me encantó!



3.- El Médico - Noah Gordon (1986)

It is know that reality always beats fiction, and in this book it does! The main character is a boy in the XI century that deserves to be looked-up. The narrative is his life, as simple and as complicated as that, from when he is 9 years old to when he forms a family and settles down after the craziest and most lived with pashion years one could imagine. It's magic yet real, and that is why I like it. It makes you want to do magic with your life as well as he did.


Siempre se dice que la realidad supera a la ficción, y en este caso no puede ser más cierto. El protagonista es un chico en el siglo XI que yo admiré desde el primer momento. La historia es su vida, nada más y nada menos, desde que tiene 9 años hasta que forma una familia después de unos años de juventud vividos con toda la pasión y energía del mundo. Es mágico y real a la vez, por eso me gustó tanto: hace que quieras hacer magia con tu vida al igual que él.



4.- This Modern Love - Will Darbyshire (2016)

Thank you Will for writing such a humane book, about people and our very feelings. It is a recopilation of love letters that Will, who is a YouTuber, asked his audience to send. From when I knew from it I wanted it, I loved the idea. By reading This Modern Love I read not one, but hundreds of love stories (both great and awful) and thousands of feelings.


Gracias Will por escribir un libro tan humano, sobre personas y nuestros verdaderos sentimientos. El libro es una recopilación de cartas de amor que Will pidió a sus seguidores que le enviasen. Desde que supe de qué iba el proyecto, quise el libro porque me encantó la idea. Al leer This Modern Love no leí una, sino cientos de historias de amor (tanto tristes como increíbles), y miles de sentimientos.



5.- Todo Eso Te Daré - Dolores Redondo (2016)

Within the first pages it already made me cry... I only just started it, and I'm excited to get to the end.


En las primeras páginas ya me hizo llorar... Acabo de empezarlo, ¡y ya estoy impaciente por llegar al final!






bottom of page